Skip to main content
Project Horseshoe Farm Flyer

Deadline Approaching: Project Horseshoe Farm Community Health Fellowship

Monday Jan 28 - Feb 10 | 11:30 am - 11:45 pm

Project Horseshoe Farm offers a 13-month gap-year fellowship program for recent college graduates and undergraduate internship opportunities of varying duration. Alumni have expressed how transformative their Fellowship experience was and have gone on to top medical schools, graduate programs, and nonprofit organizations across the US. Our organization is a growing part of the community, with ever-expanding Enhanced Independent Living Housing Programs, Community Center Programs, and K-12 Youth Programs run by the Fellows year-round.

The 2019-2020 Community Health Fellowship application deadline is Sunday, February 10th at 11:59 PM CST. Browse through our website to find our application and to learn more about the work we are doing and our student opportunities.

Sid Richardson Building

Sid Richardson Building
2955 South University Dr
Fort Worth, TX 76129

About Alpha Epsilon Delta Texas Zeta Chapter

The Texas Zeta Chapter of AED has its roots in the TCU Premed/Predent Honor Society which was formed in 1975 with Dr. Manfred Reinecke as its faculty advisor. The society expanded to the point that, in 1978, a committee was formed to petition for affiliation with the national organization AED. AED approved the petition, and on April 20, 1979, the Texas Zeta Chapter of AED was established at TCU with the initiation of 31 active members, three active alumni, and five honorary members. Dr. Reinecke served as the faculty advisor until 1991 and was succeeded by Dr. Phil Hartman. Dr. Reinecke and Dr. Hartman have also served as chairs of TCU's Health Professions Advisory Committee. In addition, both have served as Regional Directors to the national organization. It may be of interest to know that there has been tremendous stability to TCU's Pre Health Professions Program. This is evidenced by the long tenure of each head of the program, noted as follows: Will Winton 1918-1950 Willis G. Hewatt 1950-1972 Manfred Reinecke 1972-1991 Phil Hartman 1992-present. The objectives of AED are to: * Encourage and recognize excellence in prehealth scholarship; * Stimulate an appreciation for prehealth education; * Promote cooperation and contacts between health professions students and premedical students and educators in developing an adequate program of prehealth education; * Bind together similarly interested students; and to use its knowledge for the benefit of health organizations, charities, and the community.